National Center for Combustion Research and Development

Indian Institute Of Technology Madras & Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
Dr. Vinu R

Assistant Professor Dept of Chemical Engg., IITM


Biomass conversion to biofuels and intermediates, Microkinetic modeling of polymer reactions, Photocatalysis.


CHL 201A


  1. Ojha, D.K.; Vinu, R. Fast co-pyrolysis of cellulose and polypropylene using Py-GC/MS and Py-FT-IR. RSC Adv. 2015, 5, 66861-66870.
  2. Suriapparao, D.V.; Pradeep, N.; Vinu, R. Bio-oil production from Prosopis juliflora via microwave pyrolysis. Energy Fuels 2015, 29, 2571-2581.
  3. Nair, V.; Panigrahy, A.; Vinu, R. Development of novel chitosan-lignin composites for adsorption of dyes and metal ions from wastewater, Chem. Eng. J. 2014, 254, 491-502.
  4. Vinu, R.; Broadbelt, L. J. A mechanistic model of fast pyrolysis of glucose-based carbohydrates to predict bio-oil composition, Energy Environ. Sci. 2012, 5, 9808-9826.
  5. Vinu, R.; Broadbelt, L. J. Unraveling reaction pathways and specifying reaction kinetics for complex systems, Annu. Rev. Chem. Biomol. Eng. 2012, 3, 29-54.
  6. Vinu, R.; Madras, G. Kinetics of simultaneous photocatalytic degradation of phenolic compounds and reduction of metal ions with nano-TiO2, Environ. Sci. Technol. 2008, 42, 913-919.


  • Postdoctoral Research Assistant, McCormick School of Engineering and Applied Science, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, U.S.A., 2010 –2012
  • Assistant Professor, Dept. of Chemical Engineering, IIT Madras, Chennai, India, 2012 onwards 


  1. Recipient of Prof. N. R. Kuloor Memorial Medal for the best doctoral thesis in Chemical Engineering Department of Indian Institute of Science, 2010-2011
  2. International travel grants from Department of Science and Technology (DST) and Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), India, 2009
  3. General Electric (G.E.) foundation scholarship for the best M.Sc.(Engg.) student. 2006 – 2008
  4. Summer research fellowship from Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore, India, 2005


  • IIT Madras,
  • National Centre for Combustion Research And Development.

List of Students

PhD Students

  1. Attada Yerrayya
  2. Dadi V. Suriapparao
  3. Deepak Kumar Ojha
  4. Piyali Dhar
  5. Raja Sekhar Reddy B
  6. Ribhu Gautam